Flourish Award 2018

15th September - 27th October 2018

Hazel Roberts, Jemma Gunning, John Angus, Kathryn Desforges, Maxine Foster, Michaela Wheater, Nazanin Moradi, Neil Bousfield, Nicole Polonsky, Nigel Morris, Sara Lee, Sin Park and Theresa Taylor

The Flourish Award was established in 2009 by West Yorkshire Print Workshop to showcase excellence in printmaking from across Yorkshire.

Since 2014 the Award has been open to printmakers across the UK, and to celebrate our 10th year, the 2018 Award will provide artists and printmakers with the opportunity to exhibit their work in a touring exhibition at the WYPW Gallery in Mirfield, PR1 Gallery at the University of Central Lancashire in Preston, and Spike Print Studio in Bristol.

At the artists' reception event on 26th October, the judges awarded the following prizes:

Flourish Award 2018 and Intaglio Printmakers Prize - HAZEL ROBERTS
Hawthorn Printmakers Supplies Prize to a Student or recent Graduate - MAXINE FOSTER
ArtLab Contemporary Print Studio (UCLAN) Award - NIGEL MORRIS
RK Burt & Co. Prize - SIN PARK
Awagami Paper Award (Visitors’ Choice) - JEMMA GUNNING

The exhibition tours to PR1 at the University of Central Lancashire, Victoria Building, Adelphi Street, Preston from 5th - 22nd November and then to Spike Print Studio in Bristol from 18 January - 16 February 2019, open to the public Mon-Fri 10am - 4pm.

Liz K. Miller, Winner of Flourish 2017, showcases her work at Huddersfield Art Gallery from 20th October - 12th January and presents a talk and performance there on Saturday 17th November, 1-3.30pm.


David Sinclair, Head of Visual Art and Engagement, The Civic, Barnsley

Tracy Hill, Artist, Awagami Paper Award winner, Flourish Award 2017 and Research Associate at ArtLab CPS at UCLan

Grant Scanlan, Huddersfield Museums Manager

Liz K Miller ‘The Circular Scores’ Huddersfield Art Gallery